18 month old newly diagnosed ASD

On New Year’s Eve my son was diagnosed with ASD. Being a nurse I know the medical aspect of this condition, which I think is doing more harm than good at this point. We have our first appointment with the cardiologist on January 20th. I know I’m going to be a nervous wreck so I’m trying to get prepared ahead of time. I’ve written a list of his symptoms, questions for the doctor, and researched treatment options. Does anyone have other suggestions or advice to better prepare me for the appointment.
Thanks!!

Hi Mia!
and welcome to this forum, u Will not be alone in this journey…
I can imagine how you are feeling since my 27 year old sister was diagnosed with a fenestrated asd for 4 months ago and underwent oppen heart surgery for 2 months ago.the surgery went great but i am also a medical doctor so i know what you are going through and how your knowledge just adds stress than helps you.I wont lie to you it isnt finna be àn easy period of your life but trust me the worst period is now that you haven’t had the consultation. Once u know if your baby needs the correction and when (because maybe the doctor will want to wait and see if it closes depending on the size of the defect) you will calm down.The truth is that everything is worse in our imagination and blown out of proportion because of our medical knowledge.
This beeing said i can give you the questions i asked our surgent (of course many of the questions are for a patient that will be operated which might not be your babys case)

1.what examinations must be done before eventuell operation?laboratory,TEE,MR,EKO?
2.If oppen heart surgery Pericardial or Dacron patch closure?
3.Postoperative TEE or normal is it performed?
4.B blocker drugs?yes or no?initiation?duration?
5.Type of incision(under breast or middle?).Risk of conversion to a more invasive approach or inadequate repair?
6.Antibiotic profylaxis?
7.Can u have numbness in the area?
8.drugs?how long?dosage?