I am new here. So glad to have a support group. I am 36 years old RN, wife, and mother of 3( 14,5,1) who just found out I had an ASD in February. I never had any issues as a child with PE (eventhough I hated it). I even danced and cheered for 5 years from middle school to high school. It wasnt until that morning in February when I noticed that the shortness of breath I was having was getting progressively worse. I ended up in the emergency room with chest pain, shortness of breath, and tachycardia. After I was checked for heart attack, the doctor was going to send me home. I am a nurse and I don’t go to the hospital for the fun of it. I have to be a little firm and tell that doctor if he didn’t fix this I would be back in the ER everyday until they found out what was causing my symptoms. Well I was admitted and test were run the next day. I have an ECHO with bubble test and treadmill stress test. The ECHO showed the ASD. I passed out after the stress test from my vessels vasoconstricting. I was later taken to have a TEE done to see how big the hole was. I was later told by an adult cardiologist about my ASD and that I would need open heart surgery to repair my ASD. I was in a state of shock and didnt know anything about this. That cardiologist thought about it and stated that he wanted me to see a pediatric cardiologist. I met with him and he has the best personality. I am happy to have him as my cardiologist now. He was very encouraging and educated me well about ASD to the point I was comfortable. He preformed my closure on 3/31 via cardiac cath procedure. I have a .19mm amplatzer septal occluder now that I plan to name since its my new friend. I am only 4 days post op and frustrated that I can’t complete some task that I didn’t prior to the closure. I know this will get better as the time goes by as my body adjust to something is didn’t know was normal for 36 years. Just ready to get back to exercising again.