Hello! Just Diagnosed---With Many Questions! Thanks in Advance!

First some background: I have recently had swelling in the legs (L>R) and there was some pain along the inside of my leg. At first I thought maybe a clot or leg valve disease of the great saphenous vein? But with a Doppler a clot was ruled out. I saw my primary Dr and he thought my veins looked good and maybe it had just been a superficial thrombophlebitis. He however set me up to have an Echo done. I wait a few days for that and then I am in there just waiting to get through the echo....Eyes closed trying to be calm....when the tech says, "I think we may have to do some bubble contrast to see your heart better...I think you may have a hole in your heart." I was like 'UHNN??? What?" I looked up at the screen from then on until the end of the test. She felt it was a left to right shunt as the bubbles didn't cross right to left. Anyways. I watched the thing from there on out and being a nurse I knew the anatomy of the heart. I could see where the septum would separate and then almost kind of close with each beat (at this point it is beating pretty fast!). So I stay calm (It is a Friday of course). So I wait all weekend and get a call from the LPN on Monday. She says my function is good but I have a "small hole in the heart. And that isn't the cause of your leg edema." Not sure about that! I think it could be! I also get dizzy -more and more recently. It is the weirdest thing! Just all of a sudden the room spins. I actually have to hold onto a wall! All this while I was walking a client!!! Sometimes I get a pain in the chest and feel pressure there as well. Sometimes when going to sleep. Okay so my question is as adults have any of you had a Dr tell you it is small enough that they were going to let it be? I have my first appointment with a cardiologist in 2 weeks so at this point I don't even know how many mm's it is or how big/small it is. It is definitely worrisome to think I am psyching myself up for