Work Days Off

I am having an ASD closure Friday 10/3 and wanted to know how many days did you guys stay off work. It will be done through my groin. Thanks!!

Thanks Anton, I was thinking that myself because everyone body is different.

I had mine done on a Wednesday back in April, came home on Thursday. I for sure took it easy through Sunday. I'm a Real Estate agent so I can make my own hours. I did keep my schedule lighter and at home, had everybody carry stuff for my, like the groceries, laundry, etc. I had a few palpitations here and there but not much. My recovery wasn't bad at all.

Good luck.

Thanks Squarehead! My doctor told me that I could go back to work on Monday after the surgery. It seemed odd but I do stand a lot and do heavy lifting. I’ve taken a week off. I just wanted to hear from people who have been through it.

Punkin98 said:
Thanks Squarehead! My doctor told me that I could go back to work on Monday after the surgery. It seemed odd but I do stand a lot and do heavy lifting. I've taken a week off. I just wanted to hear from people who have been through it.

The Dr. will for sure tell you no heavy lifting. I found out, it’s not for the strain on your heart but that they don’t want any complications on the groin entry point, leaking, tearing or a blood clot forming. It’s good that you took the week off.

I had mine closed 9/17 and first 3 days for sure you want to take EXTREME care of the groin area. This week my work allows me to be remote. So I was good and it's healing pretty well now!! However the healing time varies person-person and first week you should not be putting too much pressure on the groin area - walking fast, bending, weights, lifting heavy objects etc I also noticed sitting for a long time...strains the area a little bit.

So I guess work days off will depend on work type.

My good thoughts and very best wishes will be with you for a completely successful solution and return to health.