Looking for info!

Hi everyone, I just joined the group today. I’m somewhat frustrated but now moving in the right direction I believe. I am a nurse and a paramedic so I have some medical background. I have a brother that passed away from ASD in 1973. When I found out I was pregnant last year I made sure I told everyone who would listen about him in order for my son to be evaluated well early and have it ruled out. I was assured he was fine. Fast forward to last week, he’s now 8 months old and caught that nasty virus going around requiring him to be admitted to the hospital. While there they noted a heart murmur and did a cardiac echo, finding the ASD. It’s classified as “medium” at 6mm. We see the cardiologist next week. What are some good things I need to broach with him? I want to make sure I leave with no unanswered questions.

Welcome Zachary’s Mom. My daughter’s ASD (13mm) was found in almost exactly the same way as you son’s when she was a year old. With her, we knew fairly early on they didn’t want to do anything until she was 4 or 5 years old, so that may be your situation too. Sometimes the ASDs close by themselves, so they’ll likely want to see if it does. I’d ask what type of ASD it is, where it is, and whether the rims are even or if one is short. My daughter had one really short rum, which meant she wasn’t a candidate for any of the devices. She had hers closed at 4 via open heart surgery. She’s now 7, and other than a very thin white scar, you’d never know she had an issue. The good news is they found this early and can fix it, so your son’s situation should be much much different than your brother’s. I know that probably doesn’t make you feel better now. Please keep me posted. I was terrified with my daughter but realize now it was such a blessing it was caught early. I’m happy to walk you through the decisions we made or give you any info I have. Hang in there-Stacey